B+N Industries

Innovative design solutions for improved customer loyalty

BNIndustries Shelf
Case Study
Ambitious design solutions paired with an innovative product configurator.
Having experts as customers is always challenging. This applies to the US company B+N Industries, who was looking for solutions to make product creation easier and more exciting for the customer.  But how do you sell products, which rely heavily on customer know-how? The Combeenation product configurator offers exactly what B+N Industries was looking for.  
BNIndustries Shelf
Starting Point
Discriminating Customers Require New Solutions

Based in Burlingame, California,  B+N Industries is an innovative designer and manufacturer of products and services for the retail, architectural, and hospitality industries in both the domestic and international markets. One of their products, System 1224, is a wall-mounted modular shelving system. Its grid-based layout and high customizability,  allow for individual custom solutions. Their clients typically already have a certain level of product knowledge; they have an understanding on how product functions but are interested in creating customized solutions. 

Collaborating with experts increases expectations: 

  • How can one present the intelligence of the product? 
  • How can customer creations be visualized in real-time? 
  • How can waiting period for requests be reduced? 
BNIndustries Mockup
Solution with product configurator
A Product Configurator as Unique Selling Point

With the Combeenation product configurator, B+N industries can engage and educate customers by showing them how inventive and versatile System 1224 is.  Personal, one on one advice may still be necessary,  but not at the beginning of the customer journey.  By using the online configurator, a Customer gains familiarity and knowledge of the system, learning its benefits and customizing possibilities, thus making it easier to sell the system. 

The realistic visualization of their individualized design solution as well as the user-friendly selection and input of various parameters, convey the unique intelligence of the product. Customers insert information about their room and wall dimensions and then populate the available space with System 1224 components: panels, shelves, and accessories. 

BNIndustries Shelf
Benefits of implementation
Reduction of Repetitive Work and Learning Curve in using the Product

The Combeenation product configurator allows the customer to playfully explore the variety in the system. Potential buyers gain experience and knowledge of the system by figuring out what is possible and what is not. In the past, it was necessary to repeat these work steps over and over. Thanks to the implementation of the configurator this repetitive work gets reduced. 

  As a new touchpoint, the configurator can 

  •   provide a clear solution for space which reduces the required consultation via email or telephone 
  • accurately visualize the configurated solution 
  • create a bill of material and a quote 

Compiling the fitting System 1224 gets facilitated through the user-friendly and intuitive tool. Within the configurator, the customer always sees which combinations are feasible. Subsequently, customers can discuss the configurated design solution with B+N Industries, and a draft can easily be complemented or modified. By reducing the implementation period, the customer frustration level gets minimized. 

Configurator Insights

„It has been a great experience to work with Combeenation and their software. What we like most is the ability to dictate the rules-based building logic. Our customers can now access our full catalog of parts and easily configure an infinite possibility of assemblies, all based on rules we have established.“ 
BN Schultis Quote
Kevin Shultis, Director of Design

About B+N Industries

B+N Industries is a US-based company that designs and manufactures modern modular shelving and architectural systems for the retail, hospitality, residential, and contract industries offering individualized customer solutions. For more than 30 years they have been supporting renowned customers like McDonald’s and the Bank of America. 

Highlights Combeenation Configurator

  • Visualization 3D 
  • Only feasible solutions can be configured. 
  • Details like color and materials can be set globally and individually per part 
  • Gathering of necessary parameters 
  • Automated generation of bill of material, 3D wall installation as well as 2D technical drawings 
  • Price calculation as a sum of individual parts 
  • Automated customer email with a bill of material as well as a 3d export,  which can be used in other planning programs. 
  • Embedding in the existing website as iFrame

B+N Industries

Innovative Designerlösung zur besseren Kundenbindung

BNIndustries Shelf
Case Study
Anspruchsvolle Designlösungen gepaart mit innovativem Produktkonfigurator
Experten als Kundschaft sind immer eine Herausforderung. So auch für das US-amerikanische Unternehmen B+N Industries. Doch wie verkauft man ein Produkt, welches auf das Knowhow der Kund*Innen angewiesen ist? Der Combeenation Produktkonfigurator bietet genau das, wonach B + N Industries gesucht hat.
BNIndustries Shelf
Ausgangssituation
Anspruchsvolle Kunden verlangen neue Lösungen

B + N Industries mit Sitz in Burlingame, Kalifornien, ist ein innovativer Designer und Hersteller von Produkten und Dienstleistungen für den Einzelhandel, Architektur und Gastgewerbe sowohl am nationalen und internationalen Markt. Eines ihrer Produkte, System 1224, ist ein modulares Wandregalsystem. Das gitterbasierte Layout und die hohe Anpassbarkeit ermöglichen individuelle kundenspezifische Lösungen. Ihre Kunden verfügen in der Regel bereits über ein bestimmtes Produktwissen. Sie haben ein Verständnis für die Funktionsweise des Produkts, sind jedoch daran interessiert, maßgeschneiderte Lösungen zu entwickeln.

Mit Experten zusammenzuarbeiten bringt auch eine hohe Erwartungshaltung mit sich:

  • Wie kann die Intelligenz des Produktes bestmöglich präsentiert werden?
  • Und wie wird den Kund*Innen die Eigenkreation visualisiert?
  • Wie kann die Wartezeit auf die Antwort einer Anfrage verkürzt werden?
BNIndustries Mockup
Lösung mit Produktkonfigurator
Ein Produktkonfigurator als Unique Selling Point

Persönliche Beratung ist gefragt, allerdings in diesem Fall nicht von Beginn weg notwendig. Da die Kund*Innen von B+N Industries mit dem Produkt vertraut sind, bietet sich ein Konfigurator als Verkaufsinstrument an. Durch die Möglichkeit, sich selbst mit dem System 1224 auseinanderzusetzen, wird eine stärkere Bindung zum Produkt selbst als auch zum Unternehmen erzeugt.

Die ansprechende realistische Visualisierung der individualisierbaren Designlösung sowie die einfache Auswahl und Eingabe wichtiger Parameter, beweisen die einzigartige Intelligenz des Produkts. Kund*Innen geben Informationen zu ihren Raum- und Wandabmessungen ein und füllen den verfügbaren Raum mit System 1224-Komponenten: Paneelen, Regalen und Zubehör.

BNIndustries Shelf
Auswirkungen Umsetzung
Reduktion von sicher wiederholender Arbeitsschritte und intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Produkt

Der Combeenation Produktkonfigurator soll es den Kund*Innen ermöglichen, die Variantenvielfalt des Systems spielerisch zu entdecken. Potenzielle Käufer sammeln Erfahrung und Wissen über das System, indem sie herausfinden, was möglich ist und was nicht. In der Vergangenheit war es notwendig, Arbeitsschritte mühselig zu wiederholen. Durch die Implementierung eines Konfigurators wird diese Arbeit dem Kunden erspart.

Als neuer Touchpoint kann der Produktkonfigurator:

  • einen klaren Lösungsraums vorgeben, wodurch die notwendige Beratung via E-Mail oder Telefon reduziert wird
  • realitätsgetreue Visualisierung der von Käufer*Innen konfigurierten Endlösung
  • Stücklisten und Montagen erstellen

Das passende System 1224 zu erstellen, wird mit der Combeenation Lösung durch benutzerfreundliche und intuitive Werkzeuge maßgeblich erleichtert. Im Konfigurator wird den Kund*Innen gezeigt, welche Kombinationen auch in einer realen Umgebung umsetzbar sind.

Die fertig konfigurierten Designlösungen können in weiterer Folge mit B+N Industries besprochen und ergänzt beziehungsweise abgeändert werden. Dadurch wird auch der Umsetzungszeitraum reduziert und damit das Frustrationslevel der Kundschaft minimiert.

Konfigurator Insights

„It has been a great experience to work with Combeenation and their software. What we like most is the ability to dictate the rules-based building logic. Our customers can now access our full catalog of parts and easily configure an infinite possibility of assemblies, all based on rules we have established.“ 
BN Schultis Quote
Kevin Shultis, Director of Design

Über B+N Industries

B + N Industries ist ein in den USA ansässiges Unternehmen, das moderne modulare Regal- und Architektursysteme für die Einzelhandels-, Gastgewerbe-, Wohn- und Vertragsbranche entwirft bzw. herstellt und individuelle Kundenlösungen anbietet. B+N Industries ist seit mehr als 30 Jahren im amerikanischen Markt tätig und kann Kunden wie McDonalds oder die Bank of America vorweisen.

Highlights Combeenation Kundenlösung:

  • Visualisierung in 3D
  • Nur umsetzbare Lösungen können konfiguriert werden
  • Details wie Farbe, Material und Add-Ons werden initial definiert, können aber individuell pro Produkt abgeändert werden
  • Erfassung aller notwendigen Parameter
  • Automatische Generierung von Stücklisten und 3D-Exportdaten zur Weiterverwendung in Planungsprogrammen
  • Kalkulation des Gesamtpreises als Summe der Einzelteile
  • Automatische Mail an Kund*Innen inkl. Montageanleitung
  • Einbettung in vorhandene Website als iFrame