USP Emotional Value: How Customized Products affect our Emotions

There are many reasons for an emotional bond with a product. But one stands out in particular: the desire to design, personalize, individualize something or - in other words - the desire to own something unique and feel unique as a result. Product configurators are excellent tools for establishing a lasting connection with customers on an emotional level.

The study ““Emotional bonding with personalised products” examines the importance of emotional effects in connection with the efforts made to personalise a product's appearance. Dutch students who all owned a bicycle were interviewed. Some had individualized their bikes, painted them conspicuously, provided them with a pattern, bright colors or a name. The reason: a bicycle that stands out visually on a campus full of bicycles is easier to locate and it is less likely to be stolen. And very important: a unique bike underlines your own personality.
In fact, the customized bicycles had a higher emotional value for their owners. Furthermore the study showed that more effortful product personalisation results in stronger emotional bonds. 

The question for many companies at this point is: Why is this important for my business?
 

USP Emotional Value


 

What about uniqueness?

The dynamics of a free, global market, technological progress and digitization brings a huge selection of equivalent, standardized, interchangeable products. Often these products cannot even be differentiated by price. Therefore it is obvious for customers to look for other indications and values ​​for their purchase decisions. And this is when the emotional dimension of product customization described above comes into play. Because companies as well are constantly looking for new ways to emotionally involve, bind and make customers loyal.

It is important to understand that for companies loyal and emotionally bound customers cause fewer costs in maintaining relationships. They are not as sensitive to price fluctuations, buy more and more often, and are better brand ambassadors. Even small improvements in customer loyalty have a massive impact on a company's total revenue. And that's why customer satisfaction is essential for every company.
 

Emotions and Mass Customization: product configurators are excellent customer loyalty tools

Thanks to powerful product configurators as highly efficient customer touchpoints, the range of customizable products has increased massively in recent years. This trend affects both B2C and B2B markets. Customers want to buy products that satisfy their striving for uniqueness or that correspond to their ideas in terms of “function, fit and form” (or in the B2B context, a company's specifications). Product configurators enable exactly that. They are the interface between product and buyer. If the customization process is implemented in a user-friendly and professional manner, it offers enormous potential to affect the user emotionally.
 

How does customization influence our emotions?

"I did it myself, it's mine and it's great!"
The possibility of influencing the shape, appearance and texture of an object creates an emotional bond due to an unconsciously experienced ownership claim. This phenomenon is known as the endowment effect:

  • If I can influence the end result of a product, it gives me the feeling that it belongs to "me" even without legal ownership.
  • I am in control of the final look of a product and that strengthens my ownership.
  • The interaction with the product during my customization the realistic visualization of the product give me the illusion of being able to touch it. This signals to my brain how nice it would be if the product actually was “mine”.
  • The very feeling that something belongs to me increases my appreciation for this product.

So customers customize a product and unconsciously develop feelings of ownership, which lead to the fact that they ultimately buy the product even if they did not initially intend to. The key point: it all happens unconsciously on an emotional level. The customers do not have any negative "regret" feelings - on the contrary, a positive emotional relationship is created with the product.
 

"I'm in the flow, I'm having fun, I want more!"
Another psychological effect is triggered by the creative process during configuration: to express yourself, to accomplish something, to find a solution to a task, conveys fun, joy, pride and satisfaction.
Science describes this state as a flow experience: A flow describes the feeling of happiness, experienced as a mental state of complete immersion (concentration) and complete absorption in an activity that happens by itself.

This definition makes you probably think of an addiction problem and in fact there are similarities. The state of a flow also happens intrinsically, i.e. from the inside and is conditioned by incentives lying in the task that you actually have to cope with. In order to trigger a flow experience the task you have to accomplish must roughly correspond to your capabilities. If the challenge is too great it can quickly lead to frustration, if it is too low you can feel bored. 

In this context pride also plays a role: Mastering a system and designing the best or most suitable product can create a positive feeling. The success (a product is fully customized and fits perfectly) in turn leads to deeper satisfaction.
 

USP Emotional Value



Warning: fun is not the same for everybody

There is no question about the fact that configurators trigger emotions. However, they are influenced by the usability and quality of the configurator as the interaction platform. When implementing configurator projects, companies often tend to offer a too big range of customization variables. The problem: a high number of variants does not provoke positive emotions for every user. To find an accurate dimension for the solution space and the number of customization options it helps to look at the Paradox of Choice concept.

Once feelings are involved, you should not generalize. People are different and don't react uniformly. An activity perceived as challenging and that makes fun for one person could be boring or even unconsciously provoke fear to another person. 

A detailed analysis of your target group and your buyer personas is therefore absolutely crucial for the positive response to your configurator. In practice it’s a good approach to publish a "light version" of the configurator and gradually implement more customization options. In that way it’s easier to determine their acceptance.
 

How emotional are B2B customers?

While the general opinion prevails that B2C customers decide emotionally and justify decisions with logic afterwards, it seems to be different for B2B purchasers. The procurement process between companies is complex, characterized by a lot of specifications, dependencies, longer time periods and by teams rather than one single person. Therefore everybody assumes that B2B decision making processes are rationally, based on facts.

But in the end, we are talking about human beings. Even in a business environment, the emotional system is an essential driving force. When we start our day-to-day work, we do not put this system off. Rather, it influences our behaviour in the B2B context as well. In fact the “State of B2B Study 2019” comes to the conclusion that 56% of the final B2B purchase decision is influenced by emotional criteria.

 

Further Reading

[Link] Free Download: The Configurator Database Report

[Link] The Paradox of Choice: Neither Too Much Nor Too Little

[Link] What Are the Different Types of Product Configurators?

[Link] Molto Luce 3D-Konfigurator: So bändigt man ein Produkt mit 5 Millionen Varianten!

 

References 

The Psychology Of Online Customization

Emotional Bonding with Personalised Products

Emotionalisierung durch Mass Customization

The New Science of Customer Emotions

Why brands need emotional value

Die Ergebnisse unserer „State of B2B“ Studie 2019 sind da!

USP Emotional Value: Warum personalisierte Produkte mehr emotionalen Wert für uns haben

Es gibt viele Gründe für eine emotionale Bindung zu einem Produkt. Einer aber sticht besonders hervor: der Wunsch etwas selbst zu gestalten, zu personalisieren, zu individualisieren oder - in anderen Worten - der Wunsch etwas Einzigartiges zu besitzen und sich dadurch auch einzigartig zu fühlen. Produktkonfiguratoren sind exzellente Tools, um auf emotionaler Ebene eine nachhaltige Verbindung zum Kunden herzustellen.  

Den Zusammenhang zwischen Personalisierung und emotionaler Bindung hat die Studie “Emotional bonding with personalised products” untersucht. Befragt wurden niederländische Studierende, die alle im Besitz eines Fahrrads waren. Einige allerdings hatten ihre Fahrräder individualisiert, auffällig gestrichen, mit einem Muster, leuchtenden Farben oder mit Namen versehen. Der Grund: ein Fahrrad, das sich auf einem Campus voller Fahrräder visuell abhebt, ist für den Besitzer schneller zu finden und wird zudem auch seltener gestohlen. Und ganz wichtig: ein einzigartiges Fahrrad unterstreicht die eigene Persönlichkeit.

Tatsächlich hatten die individualisierten Fahrräder für ihre Besitzer einen höheren emotionalen Wert. Und mehr noch: je aufwendiger die Individualisierung, desto stärker war die emotionale Wertschätzung. 
Die große Frage für viele Unternehmen an dieser Stelle ist: Was bringt diese Erkenntnis? 
 

USP Emotional Value


 

Wo bleibt die Einzigartigkeit?

Die Dynamik eines freien, globalen Marktes, technologischer Fortschritt und Digitalisierung bieten uns heute eine riesige Auswahl an gleichwertigen, standardisierten, austauschbaren Produkten. Oft sind diese Produkte nicht einmal über den Preis zu differenzieren. Es ist also naheliegend, wenn Kunden nach anderen Anhaltspunkten und Werten für ihre Kaufentscheidungen suchen. Und genau hier kommt die oben beschriebene emotionale Dimension der Produktindividualisierung ins Spiel. Denn natürlich sind auch Unternehmen auf der ständigen Suche nach neuen Wegen um Kunden emotional zu involvieren, zu binden und loyal zu machen.

Besonders interessant: Loyale und emotional gebundene Kunden verursachen weniger Kosten in der Beziehungspflege. Sie reagieren nicht so empfindlich auf Preisschwankungen, kaufen mehr und öfter und sind die besseren Markenbotschafter. Bereits kleine Verbesserungen bei der Kundentreue (Customer Loyalty) haben massive Auswirkungen auf den Gesamtumsatz von Unternehmen. Und deswegen ist Kundenzufriedenheit für jedes Unternehmen essentiell.
 

Emotionen und Mass Customization: Produktkonfiguratoren als Kundenbindungstools

Dank leistungsstarker Produktkonfiguratoren als hocheffiziente Touchpoints in der Customer Journey ist das Angebot an individualisierbare Produkten in den letzten Jahren massiv gestiegen. Das gilt für den B2C Markt ebenso wie für den B2B Markt. Kunden wollen Produkte kaufen, die ihr Streben nach Einzigartigkeit befriedigen oder die in “function, fit und form” ihren Vorstellungen (oder im B2B-Kontext den Vorgaben des Unternehmens) entsprechen. Produktkonfiguratoren ermöglichen genau das. Sie sind die Schnittstelle zwischen Produkt und Käufer. Wenn der Individualisierungsprozess nutzerfreundlich und professionell umgesetzt ist, bieten sie enormes Potential zur emotionalen Aufladung der Nutzer.
 

Configurator Database Report

 

Was Individualisierung emotional in uns auslöst

“Das habe ich selbst gemacht, es ist meins und es ist großartig!” 
Die Möglichkeit, Form, Aussehen und Beschaffenheit eines Objekts zu beeinflussen, erzeugt emotionale Bindung aufgrund eines unbewusst erlebten Besitzanspruchs. Dieses Phänomen ist als Endowment-Effekt bekannt und wirkt in etwa so:

  • Wenn ich das Endergebnis von Produkten beeinflussen kann, gibt mir das das Gefühl, dass es auch auch ohne rechtlichem Eigentum „mir“ gehört.
  • Ich habe die Kontrolle über das endgültige Aussehen eines Produkts und das bestärkt meine Besitzansprüche.
  • Die Interaktion mit dem Produkt im Konfigurationsprozess und vor allem eine realitätsnahe Visualisierung des Produkts geben mir die Illusion, es anfassen zu können. Dadurch wird meinem Gehirn signalisiert, wie schön es wäre wenn das Produkt tatsächlich “meins” ist.
  • Schon allein das Gefühl, dass etwas mir gehört, steigert meine Wertschätzung für dieses Produkt. 

Die emotionale Wirkungskette beim Konfigurieren ist idealerweise: Kunden individualisieren ein Produkt und entwickeln dabei unbewusst Besitzanspruchs-Gefühle, die dazu führen, dass sie das Produkt letztendlich kaufen auch wenn sie es anfangs gar nicht vorhatten. Der springende Punkt: das alles geschieht unbewusst auf emotionaler Ebene. Die Kunden haben dabei keinerlei negativen "Regret" Gefühle - im Gegenteil entsteht eine positive emotionale Beziehung zu dem Produkt.
 

“Ich bin im Flow, ich habe Spaß, ich will mehr!” 
Ein weiterer psychologischer Effekt wird durch den kreativen Prozess beim Konfigurieren ausgelöst. Die Möglichkeit, sich selbst auszudrücken, sich zu verwirklichen, eine Lösung für eine Aufgabe zu finden, vermittelt Spaß, Freude, Stolz, Zufriedenheit. 
Die Wissenschaft beschreibt diesen Zustand als Flow-Erlebnis: Flow bezeichnet das als beglückend erlebte Gefühl eines mentalen Zustandes völliger Vertiefung (Konzentration) und restlosen Aufgehens in einer Tätigkeit (Absorption), die wie von selbst vor sich geht. 

Was an ein Suchtverhalten erinnert, passiert folgerichtig auch intrinsisch, also von innen her, aus eigenem Antrieb und ist bedingt durch in der Sache liegende Anreize. Voraussetzung für das Entstehen eines Flow-Erlebnisses ist, dass die Aufgabe in etwa den Fähigkeiten des Nutzers entspricht. Denn ist die Herausforderung zu groß, kann das schnell zu Frustration führen, ist sie zu niedrig kann es  langweilig werden. Auch Stolz spielt in diesem Zusammenhang eine Rolle: Ein System zu beherrschen und das beste oder geeignetste Produkt zu gestalten, kann ein positives Gefühl hervorrufen. Dieser Erfolg (das Produkt ist fertig konfiguriert und passt perfekt) führt wiederum zu tiefer Zufriedenheit. 
 

Emotionalisierung bei Mass Customization

 

Achtung: Spaß ist relativ

Dass Konfiguratoren Emotionen auslösen, steht außer Frage. Allerdings werden alle beschriebenen emotionalisierenden Effekte von der Usability und Qualität des Konfigurators als Interaktionsplattform beeinflusst. Bei der Umsetzung von Konfiguratorprojekten tendieren Unternehmen oft dazu eine zu große Auswahl an "Stellgrößen" anzubieten . Die Gefahr: Ein immer Mehr an Varianten oder Handlungsalternativen löst nicht bei jedem Nutzer positive Emotionen aus. Bei der Suche nach der goldenen Mitte hilft es, sich mit dem Konzept Paradox of Choice auseinander zu setzen. 

Wo Gefühle im Spiel sind, darf man nicht verallgemeinern. Menschen sind verschieden und reagieren nicht einförmig. Was für den einen eine Herausforderung darstellt und Spaß macht, ist für den Nächsten langweilig und löst beim Dritten unbewusst Ängste aus. Absolut entscheidend für die positive Resonanz eines Konfigurators ist daher eine detaillierte Analyse der Zielgruppe und der Buyer Personas. Oft ist es zielführend, eine "Light-Version" des Konfigurators zu veröffentlichen und schrittweise mit mehr Auswahlmöglichkeiten auszustatten. Die Akzeptanz der neuen Stellschrauben ist so sehr leicht festzustellen.
 

Wie emotional sind B2B Kunden?

Während im B2C-Bereich die allgemeine Meinung vorherrscht, dass Kunden aufgrund von Emotionen handeln und Entscheidungen erst im Nachhinein mit Logik rechtfertigen, sieht es im B2B Bereich anders aus. Einkaufsentscheidungen im B2B-Bereich, so die Annahme, werden in erster Linie rational und faktenbasiert getroffen. Denn der Beschaffungsprozess zwischen Unternehmen ist komplex, von Anforderungen, Abhängigkeiten, längeren Zeitspannen und von mehreren Entscheidern geprägt. 

Aber letztendlich sind auch hier Menschen im Spiel. Das Motiv- und Emotionssystem ist die wesentliche Kraft, nach der die Kaufentscheidungen beeinflusst und getroffen werden. Beim Start in unseren Arbeitsalltag legen wir dieses System nicht ab. Vielmehr beeinflusst es unsere Entscheidungen auch im B2B-Kontext.
So kommt auch die aktuelle State of B2B Studie 2019 zu dem Ergebnis, dass die finale B2B Kaufentscheidung zu 56% von emotionalen Kriterien beeinflusst wird. 
 

 

Weiterführende Inhalte

[Link] Kostenloser Download: Der Configurator Database Report

[Link] Paradox of Choice: Warum manchmal weniger mehr oder weniger sein kann

[Link] Die Verschiedenen Arten von Produkt Konfiguratoren

[Link] Molto Luce 3D-Konfigurator: So bändigt man ein Produkt mit 5 Millionen Varianten!


Quellen

The Psychology Of Online Customization

Emotional Bonding with Personalised Products

Emotionalisierung durch Mass Customization

The New Science of Customer Emotions

Why brands need emotional value

Die Ergebnisse unserer „State of B2B“ Studie 2019 sind da!